A Court of Silver Flames ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5

I am as shocked as you all, but here we are. It’s far from perfect, but I honestly loved this so much. 4.5/5 stars.

GIVE ME FLAWED MAIN CHARACTERS ALL DAY EVERY DAY.

Throughout the entirety of the first three books, the one character I was actually interested in was Nesta. As such, by association, I was also intrigued by Cassian because it was very blatantly obvious that something was going on between them. To be honest, the only reason why I read ACOTAR in the first place was because I was intrigued by ACOSF. With how the initial trilogy disappointed me, I wasn’t sure how this book would deliver. But I’m glad I came in with those low expectations because this really did blow me out of the water.

The trauma/healing themes in this book were very in-your-face, but despite that, it still really worked for me. Likely because I was/am so invested in Nesta’s character arc and her growth. I also loved how Cassian did his best to be there for her, but also took a step back when she was being a little shithead. The push and pull felt natural for the most part. There were some moments that dragged a bit longer than I would have preferred, but overall the story actually made me care for once. Nesta and Cassian’s relationship and the build up to the acknowledgement of their love for one another was so tense and so delicious. I think it was really well done. Obviously if you don’t like a lot of smut, this wouldn’t work for you, but I don’t mind it at all if I’m invested in the romance (which I clearly am).

I also appreciated this book so much more because we didn’t have to be in Feyre and Rhysand’s head at all. These two characters had SO MUCH Perfect Character Syndrome the first three books. It’s still present here, but it’s toned down because we’re not in their POVs anymore. I can’t tell you how refreshing it is to actually get a POV of an intentionally flawed character. You want to root for Nesta because she’s the underdog. At least I did anyway. God I cried so much reading this book. My heart felt for her and for Cassian.

Gwyn and Emerie are also welcome additions to the story. I love them so much and I loved how Nesta has her own found family beyond the Night Court. Yes, Feyre and Elain are her family, but Nesta never really got to choose her own friends before and I’m glad she found some in these two awesome badass women. I loved how the three of them pushed each other to get better and to be better.

The main plot was… eh. Honestly the plot can be summed up as: plot? what plot? isn’t this a 700+ page nesta/cassian romance with a heavy dose of nesta working past her trauma? I’m glad the plot wasn’t the main focus TBH or else this rating would’ve been much lower.

It truly is my love for Nesta and Cassian that carries this rating through though. Giving me the Feyre/Rhysand I wanted to get in books 2 and 3. I am… interested to see what SJM comes up with next. But honestly I think this only worked for me because it was Nesta and Cassian. We’ll see how I feel when the upcoming books get released.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started